David Hume (1711 - 1776) - A Treatise of Human Nature (1738 - 1740)

A "Treatise of Human Nature" is a book by Scottish philosopher David Hume, first published (in parts) from the end of 1738 to 1740. The full title of the treatise is "A Treatise of Human Nature: Being an Attempt to Introduce the Experimental Method of Reasoning into Moral Subjects". It contains the following sections:

  • Book 1: "Of the Understanding" – An investigation into human cognition. Important statements of Skepticism.
  • Book 2: "Of the Passions" – A treatment of emotions and free will.
  • Book 3: "Of Morals" – A treatment of moral ideas, justice, obligations, benevolence.